How do you reset a mac laptop

How to restore your Mac to factory settings

When you reset your Mac to factory settings you are essentially performing a series of low-level operations behind the scenes. A format of the hard drive will erase all data on the hard drive and remove it from your iMac, MacBook Pro or Mac Mini. While it is often considered to be a permanent deletion of data this is not always the case, Disk Drill is capable of recovering data after a factory reset.

It is even possible to recover full partitions with Disk Drill if your Mac was repartitioned after a factory reset. There are quite a few common reasons to restore your Mac to factory settings, the most common is due to issues with the file system.

HOW to Factory Reset MacBook Air [WORKS in 2019]

If you are resetting your computer due to any of the aforementioned we highly suggest using Disk Drill to attempt to recover any important data that you may already be missing before proceeding. Data recovery becomes more complicated as time progresses and after factory resets and formatting. Running a scan with Disk Drill before performing a factory restore could help you to locate and recover valuable files which may otherwise be lost.

3 Ways to Reset a MacBook Pro - wikiHow

There are additional benefits to running Disk Drill before performing a factory reset, such as our Recovery Vault technology. Utilizing Recovery Vault increases your chances of recovering important data which will be erased during a factory reset. This means that recovering lost or deleted data is much more complicated on these types of drives. There are a few handy steps you should take before you proceed to reset your Mac to factory settings.


  1. Create a backup.
  2. How to Restart a Mac Computer - dummies;
  3. mac perfectly plush brush kit temptalia;
  4. RELATED ARTICLES;
  5. Security Research Center Policy.
  6. Common Reason for Restoring Mac to Factory Settings.

Please see our handy tips below:. Plus, a backup will go faster and more smoothly if your Mac is not cluttered. For a quick cleanup, you can use a utility like CleanMyMac X. It will help you remove large and old files, useless apps, caches, and system junk in two clicks. Note that your first backup may take a long time, depending on how many files you have.

The ultimate checklist before you reset MacBook Pro

Once your files are backed up, next be sure to disable any services that are associated with your system, including iTunes, iCloud, and iMessage, and deactivate programs on your Mac. Did you know, you can authorize up to 5 computers, which means that you can play your content just on 5 different Macs? FileVault plays an important role on your Mac. It encrypts the data on your hard drive to prevent the unauthorized access to the information on your startup disk.


  • How to Reset Your Mac to Factory Settings.
  • What to do before you sell, give away, or trade in your Mac!
  • Popular articles!
  • mai hai anh mac bikini.
  • technic launcher not opening mac?
  • How to wipe MacBook Pro without losing data;
  • Sign out of iCloud to make sure that any remnants of the cloud data, such as bookmarks, notes, reminders, etc. Before you restore Mac to factory settings, be sure to sign out of iMessage.

    m.laserterapy.ru/includes/71-donde-comprar.php To ensure that all information is cleared from the Touch Bar, you need to erase its data. Follow these steps:. A dialog asks whether you want to keep a copy of your iCloud data on the Mac. Because you'll reformat the hard drive in a later step, just click Keep a Copy to proceed. After you sign out of iCloud, your iCloud data remains in iCloud and on any other devices you've signed into with your Apple ID. Select your iMessage account, then click Sign Out. This optional step prevents accidental input on the Mac if the computer and the Bluetooth devices have separate owners but remain within Bluetooth range of one another.

    When the dialog asks if you're sure, click Remove. After macOS installation is complete, the Mac restarts to a Welcome screen and asks you to choose a country or region. If you want to leave the Mac in an out-of-box state, don't continue with the setup of your system. Instead, press Command-Q to shut down the Mac.

admin